First Nations Fostering

In Wisconsin, there are more American Indian children in foster care than there are licensed American Indian foster parents. Many of these children and youth are in homes far away from their tribes and communities and are at risk of losing the connection to their culture. With your help, the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families is working to increase the number of American Indian foster families to strengthen these community and cultural connections for American Indian children who are experiencing out-of-home placement in Milwaukee County and the balance of the State.

If you are American Indian and would like to learn more about fostering children in Milwaukee County please contact one or both of the agencies listed below:

Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Community Services
Phone: 414-KID HERO (414-543-4376)
http://www.chw.org/fostercare

SaintA
Phone: 855-GROW-HOPE
Email: growhope@sainta.org
http://www.growhope.net/

If you are an American Indian and would like to learn more about foster care or become a licensed foster home in the balance of the state of Wisconsin, please contact:

Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Gina Secord
arcmgr@badriver-nsn.gov

Melissa Burns
Bricw3@badriver-nsn.gov

P.O. Box 55
Odanah, WI 54861
Phone: (715) 682-7135 x1434
Fax: 715-682-7800

Forest County Potawatomi

Deanna Collins
5415 Everybody’s Road
Crandon, WI 54520
Phone: (715) 478-4957
Fax: (715) 478-7442
Deanna.collins@fcpotawatomi-nsn.gov 

Ho-Chunk Nation

Jackie Moen-Kadlec
Phone: (715) 284-7749
Toll-Free: (855) 659-8820
ICW@ho-chunk.com 

Lac Courte Orielles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

LuAnn Kolumbus
13394 W. Trepania Road
Hayward, WI 54843-2186
Phone: (715) 634-8934
Fax: (715) 634-2981
Luann.kolumbus@lco-nsn.gov 


Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Kristin Allen
418 Little Pines Road
Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
Phone: (715) 588-4275
Fax: (715) 588-3855
kallen@ldftribe.com

Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin

Mary Husby, Director
W2908 Tribal Office Loop Road
P.O. Box 520
Keshena, WI 54135-0520
Phone: (715) 799-5161
Fax: (715) 799-6061
mhusby@mitw.org

Oneida Nation

Lea E. Padron
P.O. Box 365
Oneida, WI 54155
Phone: (920) 490-3822
Fax: (920) 490-3820
lpadron1@oneidanationa.org

Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Leah Thaldorf
88385 Pike Road, Hwy 13
Bayfield, WI 54814
Phone: (715) 779-3785
Fax: (715) 779-3782
Leah.thaldorf@redcliff-nsn.gov 

Sokaogon Chippewa Community of Wisconsin

3051 Sand Lake Road
Crandon, WI 54520
Phone: (715) 478-7500
Fax: (715) 478-5275

St. Croix Chippewa of Wisconsin

Elizabeth Lowe
24670 State Road 35/70
Suite 700
Webster, WI 54893
Phone: (715) 349-2195 x5127 Fax: (715) 349-8665
elizabethl@stcroixtribalcenter.com 

Stockbridge-Munsee Community of Wisconsin

Teresa Juga
W12802 County Hwy A
Bowler, WI 54416
Phone: (715) 793-4580
Fax: (715) 793-1312
Teresa.juga@mohican-nsn.gov

Additional Contacts:

If your tribe is not listed above, please contact the Foster Care and Adoption Resource Center at 1-800-947-8074 or info@wifostercareandadoption.org.

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright © 2017 Coalition for Children | Youth | Families, formerly Adoption Resources of WI